### Roger Williams University

## DOCS@RWU

East Bay Energy Consortium Meeting Minutes

East Bay/RWU Information Collaborative

8-17-2009

# East Bay Energy Consortium Meeting Minutes, August 17, 2009

East Bay Energy Consortium

Follow this and additional works at: https://docs.rwu.edu/ebecminutes



Part of the Civil and Environmental Engineering Commons

#### **Recommended Citation**

East Bay Energy Consortium, "East Bay Energy Consortium Meeting Minutes, August 17, 2009" (2009). East Bay Energy Consortium Meeting Minutes. 3.

https://docs.rwu.edu/ebecminutes/3

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the East Bay/RWU Information Collaborative at DOCS@RWU. It has been accepted for inclusion in East Bay Energy Consortium Meeting Minutes by an authorized administrator of DOCS@RWU. For more information, please contact mwu@rwu.edu.

### East Bay Energy Consortium

August 17, 2009

Library Board Room

Roger Williams University

Meeting called to order at 10:30 a.m. List of attendees (in order of sign in):

Anne Wolff Lawson, Andrew Teitz, Walter Burke, Diane Williamson, Susan Farady, Jean-Marie Napolitano, David Baum, Andy Shapiro, Dennis Culberson, Garry Plunkett, Gary Gump, Caroline Wells, Joseph Fraioli, Joseph DePasquale, Julian Dash (RIEDC/REF), Jenny Pereira (RIF), Ken Marshall, Pete Wilbur, Beth Milham, Bob Palumbo, Lee Arnold, Paul Sanroma, Don Mallinson, Judy Newcomb Gross.

Call to Order by Lee Arnold. Lee was pleased with the RIEDC press conference which took place earlier in the morning and commended everyone for their involvement and dedication.

Motion was passed (unanimous) to approve the minutes from the previous meeting with changes:

- 1. Correct spelling of Jenny Pereira's last name throughout the minutes.
- 2. Correct spelling of Andy Shapiro's last name throughout the minutes.

Bristol Council Chairman Ken Marshall congratulated the group and gave thanks to the help from Roger Williams University and the Rhode Island Foundation who made this possible. He added for the record the following items:

- RIEDC Director J. Michael Saul recommended applying for some of the \$13 million stimulus funding coming to the state of RI. He sees this as an opportunity for EBEC to build on.
- Ken Marshall also noted that he is interested in bringing further discussion to the table regarding LNG.
- By 2020, the state mandate for renewable energy is 15%, let us work together to meet that requirement and band together for cooperation.

Joe DePasquale, Chairman of the Legal Committee, presented a report on the Committee's last meeting. He endorsed the town representatives to EBEC who have attended on a regular basis and reminded everyone that this is a non-binding group. The structure of EBEC was discussed.

Page 1 of 4

Attorney Andy Teitz, member of the Legal Committee and acting counsel to the EBEC, recommended forming a legal nonprofit entity, which would adhere to the draft proposed set of bylaws (which were handed out). A letter would be sent to each Town Clerk proposing that each town select four representatives to EBEC. One member would have voting privileges and the other three would be alternates. The door will be left open for other communities to join.

The bylaws were adopted by consensus.

Lee Arnold suggested everyone be prepared to vote at the next meeting on the 1.) resolution and 2.) Member appointments/electing of officers to EBEC.

Julian Dash added that as a member of the funding institution, he would be concerned if there were a change in make-up of EBEC membership and those who have been involved thus far stay involved.

It was determined that Attorney Teitz will provide Anne Wolff Lawson with an electronic copy of the MOA and Resolution to distribute to EBEC membership. The deadline for towns to respond with their proposed voting members and alternates, and email suggestions and changes to Ms. Wolff Lawson is 3pm, Wednesday, August 19th. All suggestions received will be incorporated into the documents. Attorney Teitz and Ms. Wolff Lawson will work together and develop the documents. Attorney Teitz will then distribute to all towns.

Motion to send out resolution, ask for changes and names and have edits returned by 8/19 was unanimously accepted.

Joe DePasquale introduced Andy Shapiro as the newly elected Chair of the Technical Committee. Andy Shapiro continued by reporting that the RFP and budget were reviewed and the following line items were decided on for the budget: Legal, Regulatory, Administration and Miscellaneous. It was determined that the consultant fee should be fairly below the \$140,000 grant award to work.

Diane Williamson reported that her office sent out RFP's to those that requested it. The advertisement was placed in The Providence Journal, posted on the town of Bristol's website, and on the American Planning Association's website. Julian Dash volunteered to send the RFP to RIEDC's listserv and requested Diane Williamson to send an electronic copy to him. Diane added that all cost proposals will stay sealed. The decision will be based on qualifications even though it is an RFP.

Susan Farady, Director of the Marine Affairs Institute at the Roger Williams University School of Law, responded to questions regarding student research assistance. Professor Gutoff will oversee students over the course of the 12-week fall semester. Students (2) will research offshore and terrestrial legal and technical permitting. RWU is involved in a

Page 2 of 4

project with URI that is researching offshore options. This is included in the research scope b/c it may tie in with EBEC's efforts.

Joe DePasquale indicated his support for this. Andy Shapiro added that he also supported it and would like to see research conducted with regard to distribution agreements for existing large-scale wind turbine systems in the Mid-West and Pacific Northwest.

Jeanne-Marie Napolitano, Mayor of Newport, volunteered to help EBEC get in contact with the Navy.

The Technical Committee also recommended the establishment of a Budget Committee. Lee Arnold and Bob Palumbo were asked to develop a Budget Committee description.

Election of an EBEC board of directors was tabled.

Walter Burke spoke to the EBEC logo image that was used during the press conference. A friend of his, Lindsey Greene, developed the logo.

There was a unanimous vote to thank her by sending her an acknowledgement letter with \$100 towards her work.

Walter Burke underscored Ken Marshall's earlier statement for the record that he would support EBEC discussion of the proposed LNG terminal for Mt. Hope Bay. Andy Shapiro agreed but would like to see this discussed by EBEC once we have moved forward with the consultant selection process.

It was the consensus of the Consortium that the next meeting will be held on August 24, 2009 at Roger Williams University at 10:30 a.m.

Meeting adjourned at 12:10 p.m.

Notes by Anne Wolff Lawson.